TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

ATW Hewes Design Awards Winners Named logo

The American Theatre Wing's Hewes Design Awards committee has announced its award winners for 2001-2002, chosen from the 60 designers nominated for their work on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway during the past theater season. They are:

Scenic Design:
Louisa Thompson, [sic]

Costume Design:
Susan Hilferty, Into The Woods

Lighting Design:
T.J. Gerckens, Metamorphoses

Noteworthy Unusual Effects:
David Gallo, Wonder of the World

Established in 1964, the awards were first called the Maharams and were later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards. In 1999, they were renamed for co-founder Henry Hewes, a noted theater critic. The judges this year were theater writers Tish Dace (chair), Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Randy Gener, Mel Gussow, Henry Hewes, Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, and Joan Ungaro. The winners will receive honoraria and citations at a luncheon today (September 13) at Sardi's.

Tagged in this Story