TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Photo Flash

Ariana DeBose, Tony Yazbeck Walk the Red Carpet at the Chita Rivera Awards

The pair were honored with the awards for Outstanding Female and Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show, respectively.

The company of Mean Girls celebrate their Outstanding Ensemble award at the 2018 Chita Rivera Awards.
(© Christopher Duggan)

The 2018 Chita Rivera awards were held on Sunday, May 20 at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts, and there was no shortage of Broadway stars shining on the red carpet. See photos from the evening in the gallery below.


The evening honored stars Ariana DeBose (Summer: The Donna Summer Musical) and Tony Yazbeck (The Beast in the Jungle), as well as the ensembles of Mean Girls and Carousel, among others. Actor, dancer, and choreographer Carmen de Lavallade received the second annual Lifetime Achievement Award; composer John Kander received the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater as a Composer; director and producer Harold Prince was presented with the SDC Director Award for Exemplary Collaboration with Choreographers; and Steven Hoggett received the inaugural Douglas and Ethel Watt Critics' Choice Award for his movement direction in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Andy Karl and Orfeh hosted the evening.

The Chita Rivera Awards celebrate dance and choreographic excellence, preserve notable dance history, and recognize past, present, and future talents while promoting high standards in dance education and investing in the next generation.

Click here to see the full list of winners.