TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

And the FringeNYC Awards Go To … logo

After nearly three weeks of Fringe Mania, the 6th Annual New York International Fringe Festival came to an end on Sunday, August 25. Closing night was celebrated at the B-Bar downtown, where the FringeNYC Overall Excellence Awards were presented by FringeNYC producing artistic director Elena K. Holy.

The awards, selected by a panel of 75 theater professionals, were as follows:

Overall Production:
Billy Nijinsky
Matt & Ben
Five Frozen Embryos & The Sleepers
6 Story Building

Solo Show:
The Bizarro Baloney Show
I Kissed Dash Riprock

Kelly Groves, Beat
Jeremy Dobrish, The Joys of Sex
Arian Blanco, Dismiss All the Poets

Tonya Canada, It's All About Me
Liz Larsen, Him & Her
Shiek Mahmud-Bey, The Way Out
Matthew Swan, On The Clock

Clare Byrne, Wet Blue & Friends
Mario Heinemann, Blind Dated

Stephen Belber, The Death of Frank
Kirk Wood Bromley, The American Revolution
Herman Daniel Farrell III, Portrait of a President
Kelly McAllister, Last Call

Ensemble Performance:
Resa Fantastiskt Mystisk
Sajjil (Record)

Scenic Design:
Andromache Chalfant, Two

Costume Design:
Karen Krolak & Ameila O'Dowd, Aspic


One other award was also given out, by TheaterMania's own Laura Penny, to the winner of the TheaterMania Audience Favorite Award: The Joys of Sex. The runner-up for that honor was Pick-Up 6. Congratulations to the winners and to all the participants in this year's Fringe Festival.

Tagged in this Story