TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Akerlind, Long, Twist, West, Yeargan Win Hewes Design Awards logo
William Ivey Long
Christopher Akerlind, William Ivey Long, Basil Twist, Darron L. West, and Michael Yeargan are the winners of the American Theatre Wing's Henry Hewes Design Awards for their outstanding work during the 2004-2005 New York theater season. The awards will be presented on November 11 at Sardi's.

Akerlind won for lighting both Belle Epoque and The Light in the Piazza, Long for designing the costumes for La Cage aux Folles, Twist for his production design of the Off-Broadway revival of Symphony Fantastique, West for the sound design of the Signature Theater's Hot 'n Throbbing, and Yeargan for the set design of The Light in the Piazza. The awards committee included Hewes plus fellow theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins (chair), Tish Dace, Michael Feingold, Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Randy Gener, and Joan Ungaro. A complete list of the nominees follows, with the winners' names in bold:

John Lee Beatty: Doubt (Manhattan Theatre Club)
Beowulf Boritt: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Second Stage)
Ralph Funicello: Brooklyn Boy (Manhattan Theatre Club)
David Gallo: Gem of the Ocean
Tim Hatley: Monty Python's Spamalot
Richard Hoover: After the Fall (Roundabout Theatre Company)
Robert Israel: Belle Epoque (Lincoln Center Theater)
David Korins: Orange Flower Water (Edge Theatre Company)
David Korins: Terrorism (New Group and Play Company)
Santo Loquasto: Glengarry Glen Ross
Thomas Lynch: Woman Before a Glass
G.W. Mercier: People Are Wrong! (Vineyard Theatre and Target Margin Theatre)
David Rockwell: All Shook Up
David Rockwell: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Van Santvoord: Finer Noble Gases (Rattlestick Playwrights Theatre)
Jan Versweyveld: Hedda Gabler (New York Theatre Workshop)
Brian Webb: The Immigrant
David F. Weiner: Billy Crystal 700 Sundays
Mark Wendland: Spatter Pattern (Playwrights Horizons)
Michael Yeargan: The Light in the Piazza

Gregg Barnes: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Gail Brassard: Altar Boyz
Elizabeth Hope Clancy: The Antigone Project (Women's Project))
Elizabeth Hope Clancy: The Oldest Profession (Signature Theatre Company)
Jess Goldstein: Brooklyn Boy
Jess Goldstein: The Rivals (Lincoln Center Theater)
Jane Greenwood: Belle Epoque
Jane Greenwood: Lone Star Love (Amas Musical Theatre)
Tim Hatley: Monty Python's Spamalot
Willa Kim: Woman Before a Glass
Michael Krass: Twelve Angry Men (Roundabout Theatre Company)
William Ivey Long: La Cage aux Folles
Jeff Mahshie: Hurlyburly (New Group)
Tobin Ost: Brooklyn
Mark Wendland: The False Servant (Classic Stage Company)
David C. Woolard: All Shook Up
Catherine Zuber: The Light in the Piazza

Kevin Adams: Spatter Pattern
Christopher Akerlind: Belle Epoque and The Light in the Piazza
Pat Collins: Doubt
Donald Holder: A Streetcar Named Desire (Roundabout Theatre Company)
Donald Holder: Gem of the Ocean
Donald Holder: La Cage aux Folles
Peter Kaczorowski: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Natasha Katz: The Glass Menagerie
Brian MacDevitt and Jason Lyons: Good Vibrations
Brian MacDevitt: Pacific Overtures (Roundabout Theatre Company)
Brian MacDevitt: The Pillowman
Phil Monat: Woman Before a Glass
Paul Palazzo: Twelve Angry Men
Kenneth Posner: Glengarry Glen Ross
Mimi Jordan Sherin: Julius Caesar

Acme Sound Partners (sound): The Light in the Piazza
Michael Deegan & Sarah Conley (multimedia): Flight (Melting Pot Theatre Company)
Jill B.C. DuBoff (sound) & Michael Friedman (music): Spatter Pattern
Richard Foreman (production design): The Gods Are Pounding My Head (Ontological-Hysteric Theater)
James Godwin and Tim Lagasse (puppets): Uncle Jimmy's Dirty Basement (Performance Space 122)
John Gromada (sound design): A Streetcar Named Desire)
Allen Moyer (snowflake show curtain): Reckless (Manhattan Theatre Club)
Fabian Obispo (sound & music): Someone Who'll Watch Over Me (Sounding Theatre Company)
Fabian Obispo (sound and music): Last Easter (MCC)
Roman Paska (puppets): Souls of Naples (Theatre for a New Audience)
Jake Pinholster (video): Boozy: The Life, Death, and Subsequent Vilification of Le Corbusier and, More Importantly, Robert Moses (Les Freres Corbusier)
Dan Moses Schreier (sound design): Pacific Overtures
Theodora Skipitares (production design): Iphigenia (La MaMa E.T.C))
Elizabeth Swados (director); Sue Rees (scenery, puppets and video design); Melissa Schlactmeyer,(costumes); Garin Marschall (lighting): Jabu (The Flea Theater)
Hanne Tierney (puppetry); Trevor Brown (lighting); Phil Soltanoff (sound); Jane Wang (music); Shawn Lane (puppetry): Man, the Flower of All Flesh (Theater Without Actors)
Basil Twist (production design): Dogugaeshi
Basil Twist (production design): Symphonie Fantastique
David Van Tieghem (sound): Woman Before a Glass:
Darron L. West (sound): Hot 'n' Throbbing (Signature Theater Company)

Tagged in this Story