TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Date for 74th Annual Theatre World Awards Announced

The ceremony will once again be hosted by theater journalist Peter Filichia. logo
Katrina Lenk was the recipient of the ninth annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater at last year's Theatre World Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The Theatre World Awards board of directors president Dale Badway announced today that the 74th annual Theatre World Awards ceremony will take place on Monday, June 4, at 7pm. The venue will be announced shortly.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theater season to six actors and six actresses for their significant debut performances in a Broadway or off-Broadway production. The 10th annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater and the sixth annual John Willis Award for lifetime achievement in theater will also be handed out. The 2018 honorees will be announced shortly.

As always, theater journalist Peter Filichia will host the event. Filichia is a member of the Theater World Awards Committee along with Roma Torre, David Cote, Joe Dziemianowicz, Harry Haun, Elysa Gardner, and Frank Scheck.