TheaterMania Logo
Home link

69th Annual Tony Awards Broadcast Nominated for Writers Guild Award

Writer Dave Boone was previously honored with a Writers Guild Award in 2012 for the 66th Annual Tony Awards.

Ruthie Ann Miles won a 2015 Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Musical.
(© David Gordon)

The June 2015 broadcast of the 69th Annual Tony Awards and writer Dave Boone have been honored with a Writers Guild Award nomination in the Comedy/Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials category. Winners will be honored at the 2016 Writers Guild Awards on February 13 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

Special material for the 69th Annual Tony Awards was written by Adam Goldman and Carol Leife. Boone was previously awarded with a Writers Guild Award in 2012 for the 66th Annual Tony Awards (with special material by Paul Greenberg) in the same category.

"Dave and his team work around the clock to create a dynamic and compelling script for both the show's host and the diverse group of presenters," said Charlotte St. Martin, president of the Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, president of the American Theater Wing, in a statement. "We are extremely proud of him and the entire production team and are honored by this nomination."

The 2016 Tony Awards will be broadcast live from the Beacon Theatre in New York City on June 12, 2016, on CBS. The Tony Awards are presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.


Tagged in this Story