TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Three Spring Awakening Actors Named 2015 Clive Barnes Awards Nominees

Tony winner Annaleigh Ashford will present the award at a January ceremony.

Katie Boeck and Sandra Mae Frank have been nominated for a Clive Barnes Award for playing the role of Wendla in Spring Awakening.
(© Joan Marcus)

The Clive Barnes Foundation has announced plans and nominees for its sixth annual Clive Barnes Awards, which will take place January 11 at Lincoln Center's Walter Reade Theater. The awards give recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals in the fields of dance and theater.

This year's Theater Award will be presented by 2015 Tony winner Annaleigh Ashford (Sylvia), and Blakeley White-McGuire, principal dancer with Martha Graham Dance Company, will present the Dance Award. The New York Post's Michael Riedel will oversee the awards as master of ceremonies. In addition, 2014 Clive Barnes Award winners, New York City Ballet soloist Russell Janzen and Tony Award winner Alex Sharp (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time), will speak at the event.

This year's Theater Award nominees are Jack DiFalco for his performance in Mercury Fur, Sandra Mae Frank and Katie Boeck for their performance in Spring Awakening, Austin McKenzie for his performance in Spring Awakening, and Dave Thomas Brown for his performance in The Legend of Georgia McBride. The Dance Award nominees are Catherine Hurlin of American Ballet Theatre, Joseph Gordon of New York City Ballet, Jacqueline Green of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, and Gabe Stone Shayer of American Ballet Theatre.

All finalists will receive a cash prize, with the winners in each category receiving an award of $5,000.