Theater News

Stephen Karam, Tom Kitt, Debra Monk, and More Named to 2015-16 Tony Nominating Committee

The committee of Tony nominators will include 51 members.

Tony Winner Tom Kitt is among the new Tony Nominating Committee members.
Tony winner Tom Kitt is among the new Tony nominating committee members.
(© David Gordon)

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced its 2015-16 Broadway season nominating committee, which will comprise 51 members. The committee attends all productions during the Broadway season and meets to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season.

The 2015-2016 nominating committee includes the following: Douglas Aibel (Artistic Director, The Vineyard Theatre), Ira Bernstein (Former Producer/General Manager/Stage Manager/Casting Director), Veronica Claypool (Arts Management Consultant, Full Circle Management Group/Former GM), Paul Cremo (Dramaturg/Director of Opera Commissioning Program, The Metropolitan Opera), Harvey Evans (Actor), Paul Gallo (Lighting Designer), Kent Gash (Director/Founding Dir., of NYU Tisch School of the Arts’ New Studio on Broadway), Jenny Gersten (Former Executive Director, Friends of the High Line), Philip Himberg (Artistic Director, Sundance Institute Theatre Program), Jack Hofsiss (Theatre/Film/Television Director), Julie Hughes (Former Casting Director), Stephen Karam (Playwright), Corby Kummer (Senior Editor, The Atlantic Magazine), Dick Latessa (Actor), Kate Levin (Cultural Assets Management Principal, Bloomberg Associates), Reynold Levy (Former President of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts), Sara Lukinson (Documentary Film Producer/Television Writer), Patricia Marx (American Humorist and Writer/Former Television Writer), Marsha Mason (Actor/Director), Jim McLaughlin (Former Producer, CBS News), Debra Monk (Actor), Roger Morgan (Lighting Designer/Theatre Designer), Katherine Oliver (Media and Technology Principal, Bloomberg Associates), Christian Parker (Chair, Graduate Theatre Program, Columbia University), Ravi S. Rajan (Dean, School of the Arts – SUNY Purchase), Nigel Redden (Gen. Dir., Spoleto Festival USA/Dir., Lincoln Center Festival), Susan H. Schulman (Director/President, Stage Directors and Choreographers), Scott Schwartz (Director), Linda Shelton (Executive Dir., Joyce Theater Foundation), Arlene Shuler (President & CEO, New York City Center), Wynn Thomas (Production Designer), Robin Wagner (Scenic Designer), and Preston Whiteway (Executive Director, The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center) as well as new Nominating Committee members Adrian Bailey (Actor), Victoria Bailey (Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund), Hope Clarke (Choreographer), Trip Cullman (Director), Sean Patrick Flahaven (Writer/Composer/Orchestrator/Conductor/Producer), Daniel Goldfarb (Playwright / Book writer), Sam Gonzalez (Dir. of Operations, Pfizer Medical/Board of Trustees Playwrights Horizons), Adam Gwon (Composer/Lyricist), Roy Harris (Production Stage Manager), Lou Jacob (Director/Chair of the MFA Directing Program at the New School for Drama), Tom Kitt (Composer), Fran Kumin (Consultant – Perf. Arts Organizations/Foundations/University Theatre Programs), Laurence O’Keefe (Composer), Paige Price (Actor/1st Vice President of AEA/Executive Artistic Director, Theatre Aspen), Warner Shook (Director), Edward Strong (Producer), Jennifer von Mayrhauser (Costume Designer), and Tom Watson (Retired Executive-Television Advertising).

Members of the committee serve a three-year term.

The 2015 Tony Awards will be hosted by Kristin Chenoweth and Alan Cumming. The event, which will take place June 7, will be broadcast on the CBS Television Network, live from Radio City Music Hall. The Tony Awards, which honor theater professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway, are presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

For tickets to the Tony Awards, click here.