TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Wayne Brady, Anthony Geary, Kathie Lee Gifford, Heather Tom Among Daytime Emmy Award Nominees; HLN to Air Awards logo
Anthony Geary
HLN will air the 39th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, which will be presented on Saturday, June 23 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, beginning at 8pm.

ABC's General Hospital led the pack with 23 nominations, while PBS' Sesame Street and CBS' The Young and the Restless tied for second most nominations, with 16 apiece.

Stage veterans who have been honored for their work in daytime dramas include Bradford Anderson (General Hospital), Matthew Ashford (Days of Our Lives), Anthony Geary (General Hospital), John McCook (The Bold and the Beautiful), Heather Tom (The Bold and the Beautiful), and Darnell Williams (All My Children).

Other daytime favorites who were recognized for their work include Maurice Benard (General Hospital), Crystal Chappell (Days of Our Lives), Genie Francis (The Young and the Restless), Nancy Lee Grahn (General Hospital), Debbi Morgan (All My Children), Erika Slezak (One Life to Live), Laura Wright (General Hospital), and Robert S. Woods (One Life to Live).

Among the many stars recognized for their work on talk shows and game shows are Wayne Brady (Let's Make A Deal), Anderson Cooper (Anderson), Ellen DeGeneres (The Ellen DeGeneres Show), Kathie Lee Gifford (Today), and Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa (Live! With Regis and Kelly).

In addition, Michael Feinstein and Bill Schermerhorn were nominated for their song for the 85th Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade entitled "Jolly Dream Pirates," while Schermerhorn and Doug Katsaros were nominated in the same category for "(Won't You) Join Our Parade," which was also performed at the event.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story