TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hathaway, Hoffman, Langella, Penn, Ruffalo, Streep, et al. Receive Satellite Award Nominations logo
Philip Seymour Hoffman
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
Nominations for the 13th annual Satellite Awards, given out by the International Press Association, have been announced. They will be bestowed on December 14 in Los Angeles.

The film Australia led the pack with nine nominations, and director Baz Luhrmann will be given the group's Auteur Award. However, the film did not receive a nomination for Best Picture, nor did Luhrmann get a Best Director nod.

Films that received Best Picture nominations -- the group hands out awards in both the drama and musical/comedy categories -- include Frost/Nixon, Happy Go-Lucky, In Bruges, Milk, The Reader and Vicky Cristina Barcelona. Nominated directors include Stephen Daldry, Ron Howard, and Gus Van Sant, while Peter Morgan, John Patrick Shanley, and David Hare all received Best Adapted Screenplay nominations.

Meryl Streep received two nominations, for Doubt and Mamma Mia!, while Mark Ruffalo received nominations for both What Doesn't Kill You and The Brothers Bloom. Other theater veterans who received acting nods include Melissa Leo (Frozen River), Anne Hathaway (Rachel Getting Married), Kristin Scott Thomas (I've Loved You So Long), Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon), Sean Penn (Milk), Debra Messing (Nothing Like the Holidays), Sam Rockwell (Choke), Rosemarie DeWitt (Rachel Getting Married), Emma Thompson (Brideshead Revisited), Viola Davis (Doubt), Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road), and Philip Seymour Hoffman (Doubt).


Tagged in this Story