Music News

The Prom Original Broadway Cast Recording Now Available on Vinyl

The musical recently earned seven Tony Award nominations, including Best Musical.

The cast of The Prom on Broadway.
The cast of The Prom on Broadway.
(© Deen van Meer)

The original Broadway cast recording of The Prom is now available on vinyl from Sony Masterworks Broadway. Newly pressed on 180-gram green marble vinyl, the limited-edition 2-LP set arrives within a gatefold jacket and includes a lyric insert, digital download card, and photos from the show's production. The album is also available digitally and on CD.

The Prom recently earned seven Tony Award nominations, including Best Best Musical, Best Direction of a Musical (Casey Nicholaw), Best Book of a Musical (Bob Martin & Chad Beguelin), Best Original Score (Matthew Sklar & Chad Beguelin), Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical (Brooks Ashmanskas), and two for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical (Caitlin Kinnunen and Beth Leavel).

Directed by Casey Nicholaw, The Prom is described as follows: "Emma becomes an instant outcast, and a national headline, when her high school cancels the prom rather than let her attend with her girlfriend. Sensing a chance to correct an injustice, and maybe get some good publicity along the way, a group of fading celebrities takes up the cause, and invades Emma's small Indiana town. But their bumbling attempts at social activism make the situation far worse than they, or Emma, could have ever imagined."

The production features music by Matthew Sklar, a book by Chad Beguelin and Bob Martin, and lyrics by Beguelin. Leading the cast are Tony Award nominee Brooks Ashmanskas, Tony winner Beth Leavel, Tony nominee Christopher Sieber, Caitlin Kinnunen, Isabelle McCalla, Michael Potts, Angie Schworer, Courtenay Collins, and Josh Lamon. Rounding out the ensemble are Mary Antonini, Gabi Campo, Jerusha Cavazos, Shelby Finnie, Josh Franklin, Fernell Hogan, Joomin Hwang, Sheldon Henry, David Josefsberg, Becca Lee, Wayne Mackins, Kate Marilley, Anthony Norman, Drew Redington, Jack Sippel, Teddy Toye, Kalyn West, and Brittany Zeinstra.

The production has scenic design by Scott Pask, costume design by Ann Roth and Matthew Pachtman, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Brian Ronan, hair design by Josh Marquette, and make-up design by Milagros Medina-Cerdeira.