TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Release Date Set for Original Broadway Cast Recording CD of The Band's Visit

The album, released digitally last December, features stars Tony Shalhoub and Katrina Lenk. logo
The original Broadway cast recording CD of The Band's Visit, starring Tony Shalhoub and Katrina Lenk, will be available in stores and online February 23.
(© Matthew Murphy)

Ghostlight Records has announced announced that the original Broadway cast recording of The Band's Visit, which released digitally last December, will be available as a CD online, in stores, and at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre on February 23. The album is produced by Dean Sharenow and David Yazbek, with Kurt Deutsch serving as executive producer.

Based on Eran Kolirin's film The Band's Visit, which won the Jury Coup de Couer prize at the Cannes Film Festival, the musical is written by Itamar Moses and David Yazbek and directed by David Cromer. The production is now running at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre.

The Band's Visit tells the story of the Alexandria Ceremonial Police Band, which lands in Israel and is inadvertently sent in the wrong direction. Soon, the band finds itself in a small settlement in the heart of the Negev desert with no transportation going out until morning and no hotel in sight.

Katrina Lenk and Tony Shalhoub star as Dina and Tewfiq, respectively, reprising their roles from the original Atlantic Theater Company production alongside fellow Atlantic cast members John Cariani (Itzik), Ari'el Stachel (Haled), George Abud (Camal), Andrew Polk (Avrum), Bill Army (Zelger), Rachel Prather (Julia), Jonathan Raviv (Sammy), Sharone Sayegh (Anna), Kristen Sieh (Iris), and Alok Tewari (Simon). Joining the cast for the Broadway mounting is Etai Benson as Papi and Adam Kantor as Telephone Guy, along with Pomme Koch and Madison Micucci, who serve as understudies.

Musicians for The Band's Visit include Andrea Grody (piano, music director), George Abud (violin, oud, darbuka), Alexandra Eckhardt (bass), Philip Mayer (drums, Arabic percussion), Sam Sadigursky (clarinet, saxophones, flute), Jeff Theiss (keyboard, associate conductor), Harvey Valdes (guitar), and David Garo Yellin (cello).

For tickets and more information, click here.


Tagged in this Story