TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Terrence Mann Becomes Finding Neverland's Next Captain Hook

Kelsey Grammer continues his hiatus from the Broadway musical.

Terrence Mann begins performances in Finding Neverland as Charles Frohman and Captain Hook September 29.
(© David Gordon)

Three-time Tony Award nominee Terrence Mann (Pippin) will join the cast of Broadway's Finding Neverland, playing his first performance September 29 at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre. Mann takes over the duel role of Charles Frohman and Captain Hook. He replaces Anthony Warlow, who was originally slated as a temporary replacement for original cast member Kelsey Grammer through September 13. Warlow will now play his final performance Sunday, September 27, with no news of Grammer's intentions to return to the show.

"Working with Terry on Pippin was a thrilling experience, and I am beyond excited that we're reuniting on Finding Neverland, says Finding Neverland director Diane Paulus. "He is a Broadway legend, and I know his signature charisma and boundless talent will electrify our audiences."

Mann has earned Tony nominations for his performances in the original Broadway production of Les Misérables, Beauty and the Beast, and most recently, his 2013 role as King Charlemagne in the Tony-winning revival of Pippin. He also plans to star in the upcoming Broadway musical Tuck Everlasting, which opens at the Broadhurst Theatre this April.

With a score by Gary Barlow and Eliot Kennedy and a book by James Graham, Finding Neverland explores the friendship of playwright J.M. Barrie and Sylvia Llewelyn Davies, a widowed mother whose four boys inspired the beloved Peter Pan stories. It is based on the 2004 film of the same title, which itself was based on Allan Knee's play The Man Who Was Peter Pan. Finding Neverland was nominated for 2015 Drama Desk Awards for Outstanding Leading Actor in a Musical (Matthew Morrison) and Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical (Carolee Carmello).

The cast currently stars Matthew Morrison (Glee) and Laura Michelle Kelly (Mary Poppins), with Carolee Carmello, Teal Wicks, Casey Butler, Alex Dreier, Jackson Demott Hill, Noah Hinsdale, Christopher Paul Richards, Eli Tokash and Courtney Balan, Kristy Cates, Dana Costello, Colin Cunliffe, Rory Donovan, Chris Dwan, Francesca Granell, Kevin Kern, Josh Lamon, Nick McGough, Mary Page Nance, Emma Pfaeffle, Jonathan Ritter, Tyley Ross, Julius Anthony Rubio, Paul Slade Smith, Jaime Verazin, Ryan Worsing, and Amy Yakima.

For tickets and more information, click here.