TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

SpongeBob SquarePants Announces Digital Lottery, Rush Ticket Policy

Previews for the new musical begin on November 6, with opening night set for December 4. logo
SpongeBob SquarePants begins previews November 6 and officially opens December 4.
(© David Gordon)

SpongeBob SquarePants announced both a digital lottery and a rush ticket policy ahead of beginning previews on November 6, with opening night set for December 4, at the Palace Theatre.

The digital lottery for same-day $30 tickets will open daily at 7am EST beginning November 6. Winners will be notified by email after the drawing and will have 60 minutes to pay for their tickets with a credit card online. They will need to present a photo ID at the Palace Theatre box office 30 minutes before the start of the performance to pick up their tickets. Click here for more information.

In addition, SpongeBob SquarePants will offer a general rush for same-day tickets when the box office opens at 10am. Only two tickets are allowed per person and are subject to availability. All methods of payment are accepted.

Based on the popular Nickelodeon cartoon, the production is described as follows: "Stakes are higher than ever before as SpongeBob and all of Bikini Bottom face the total annihilation of their undersea world. Chaos erupts. Lives hang in the balance. And just when all hope seems lost, a most unexpected hero rises up and takes center stage."

The cast will include Ethan Slater as SpongeBob SquarePants, Gavin Lee as Squidward Q. Tentacles, Lilli Cooper as Sandy Cheeks, and Danny Skinner as Patrick Star, all of whom will reprise the roles they originated in the musical's world premiere production at Chicago's Oriental Theatre in June of 2016.

The Broadway cast also includes Brian Ray Norris as Eugene Krabs and Wesley Taylor as Sheldon Plankton. The ensemble will include Gaelen Gilliland, Juliane Godfrey, Kyle Matthew Hamilton, Curtis Holbrook, Stephanie Hsu, Jesse JP Johnson, L'ogan J'ones, Jai'len Josey, Kelvin Moon Loh, Lauralyn McClelland, Vasthy Mompoint, Oneika Phillips, Jon Rua, JC Schuster, Abby C. Smith, Robert Taylor Jr., Allan Washington, Brynn Williams, and Matt Wood.

Conceived and directed by Tina Landau, SpongeBob SquarePants features original songs by Yolanda Adams, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, Jonathan Coulton, Alexander Ebert of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, the Flaming Lips, Lady Antebellum, Cyndi Lauper, John Legend, Panic! at the Disco, Plain White T's, They Might Be Giants, T.I., and songs by David Bowie, Tom Kenny, and Andy Paley. Coulton also contributes additional lyrics. The show includes a book by Kyle Jarrow, music supervision, orchestrations, and arrangements by Tom Kitt, and choreography by Christopher Gattelli.

For tickets and more information, click here.


Tagged in this Story