TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Katrina Lenk and Tony Shalhoub Will Star in The Band's Visit on Broadway

Casting has been announced for the transfer of David Yazbek and Itamar Moses's acclaimed musical.

Katrina Lenk and Tony Shalhoub in the Atlantic Theater Company production of The Band's Visit.
(© Ahron R. Foster)

Katrina Lenk and Tony Shalhoub will reprise their acclaimed performances in the Broadway transfer of David Yazbek and Itamar Moses' The Band's Visit this fall. The musical will begin previews October 7 in advance of a November 9 opening at the Ethel Barrymore Theater.

Lenk and Shalhoub will head the company as Dina and Teqfiq. They will be joined by fellow original off-Broadway cast members John Cariani as Itzik, Ari'el Stachel as Haled, George Abud as Camal, Andrew Polk as Avrum, Bill Army as Zelger, Rachel Prather as Julia, Jonathan Raviv as Sammy, Sharone Sayegh as Anna, Kristen Sieh as Iris, and Alok Tewari as Simon. Additional casting is still to be announced.

Andrea Grody will once again serve as musical director, with a band including Abud (violin, oud, darbuka), Alexandra Eckhardt (bass), Philip Mayer (drums, Arabic percussion), Sam Sadigursky (clarinet, saxophones, flute), Jeff Theiss (associate conductor and keyboard), Harvey Valdes (guitar), and Garo Yellin (cello).

Based on Eran Kolirin's film The Band's Visit, which won the Jury Coup de Couer prize at the Cannes Film Festival, the show tells the story of the Alexandria Ceremonial Police Band, which lands in Israel and is inadvertently sent in the wrong direction. Soon, the band finds itself in a small settlement in the heart of the Negev desert with no transportation out until morning and no hotel in sight. The musical adaptation premiered in 2016 at the Atlantic Theater Company.

David Cromer will reprise his direction of the musical, which features a book by Moses, an original score by Yazbek, choreography by Patrick McCollum, movement by Lee Sher, sets by Scott Pask, costumes by Sarah Laux, lighting by Tyler Micoleau, sound by Kai Harada, projections by Maya Ciarrocchi, hair by Charles LaPointe, orchestrations by Jamshied Sharifi, and musical supervision by Andrea Grody and Dean Sharenow.

The Band's Visit won the New York Drama Critics' Circle Award for Best Musical; two Lucille Lortel Awards, for Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical (Lenk); two Outer Critics Circle Awards, for Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical and Outstanding Score (Yazbek); two Obie Awards, for Musical Theater (Yazbek and Moses), and Directing (Cromer); three Drama Desk Awards, for Outstanding Director of a Musical (Cromer), Outstanding Music (Yazbek) and Outstanding Lyrics (Yazbek); and Theatre World Award's Dorothy Louden Award for Theatre Excellence (Lenk).

The Band's Visit is produced by Orin Wolf, John Styles, and John N. Hart Jr.

For tickets and more information, click here.