TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Music News

Dear Evan Hansen Original Cast Album Goes Gold

The album features stars Ben Platt, Laura Dreyfuss, and more.

Original Dear Evan Hansen stars Ben Platt and Laura Dreyfuss.
(© Matthew Murphy)

The original Broadway cast recording of Dear Evan Hansen has been certified gold, with sales exceeding 500,000.

The Dear Evan Hansen album is only the third cast recording to receive gold or greater certification this decade, following in the footsteps of The Book of Mormon and Hamilton.

With a Tony-winning score by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, and a Tony-winning book by Steven Levenson, Dear Evan Hansen is described as follows: "A letter that was never meant to be seen, a lie that was never meant to be told, a life he never dreamed he could have. Evan Hansen is about to get the one thing he's always wanted: a chance to finally fit in." Michael Greif directs.

Featured on the album are original cast members Ben Platt, Rachel Bay Jones, Laura Dreyfuss, Jennifer Laura Thompson, Michael Park, Mike Faist, Will Roland, and Kristolyn Lloyd. The current company is made up of Andrew Barth Feldman, Lisa Brescia, Mallory Bechtel, Thompson, Park, Alex Boniello, Sky Lakota-Lynch, Phoenix Best, Michael Lee Brown, Roman Banks, Brown, Garrett Long, Olivia Puckett, Asa Somers, Nicole Van Giesen, Diamond Essence White, and Dan Macke.


Tagged in this Story