TheaterMania Logo
Home link

2018 Tony Honors to Be Awarded to Three Theatrical Contributors

The annual honors recognize the work of individuals beyond the traditional Tony categories.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee has named its 2018 recipients of Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre.
(© photo provided by Slate PR)

The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced today that the 2018 Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre will be presented to New York Times culture photographer Sara Krulwich, costume beader Bessie Nelson, and the Ernest Winzer Cleaners.

The Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre were established in 1990 and are awarded annually to institutions, individuals, and/or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary achievement in theater, but are not eligible in any of the established Tony Award categories.

"This year's group of Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre award recipients perfectly exemplify the scope of work in our industry," said Heather Hitchens, president and CEO of the American Theatre Wing, and Charlotte St. Martin, president of the Broadway League. "Each one has left such a mark on the Broadway community in such different ways, and we're proud to be able to honor their contributions."

The American Theatre Wing's 72nd Annual Tony Awards, hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, will air on CBS Sunday, June 10, live from Radio City Music Hall in New York City. The Tony Awards are presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The nominations for the 2018 Tony Awards will be announced live by Leslie Odom Jr. and Katharine McPhee on Tuesday, May 1, from the New York City Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.