Photo Flash

PHOTO FLASH: Ace Young and New Cast of Hair at First Broadway Performance

Ace Young and the company of Hair
(© Tristan Fuge)
Ace Young and the company of Hair
(© Tristan Fuge)

The new Broadway cast of Hair took the stage for their first performance at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre, on Tuesday,. March 9.

As previously announced, the company is led by Diana DeGarmo (Sheila), Kyle Riabko (Claude), and Ace Young (Berger).

The cast also includes Annaleigh Ashford (Jeanie), Jeannette Bayardelle (Dionne), Vanessa Ray (Crissy), Wallace Smith (Hud), Jason Wooten (Woof), Justin Badger (Tribe), Nicholas Belton (Swing), Larkin Bogan (Tribe), Natalie Bradshaw (Tribe), Catherine Brookman (Tribe), Briana Carlson-Goodman (Swing), Antwayn Hopper (Tribe), Jay Armstrong Johnson (Swing), Rachel Bay Jones (Mom), Mykal Kilgore (Tribe), Josh Lamon (Margaret Mead/Dad), Nicole Lewis (Tribe), Anastacia McClesky (Tribe), Paris Remillard (Tribe), Arbender Robinson (Swing), Kate Rockwell (Tribe), Cailan Rose (Tribe), Rashidra Scott (Tribe), Jen Sese (Tribe), Lawrence Stallings (Tribe), Terrance Thomas (Tribe), Emma Zaks (Swing), and Lee Zarrett (Tribe).

Winner of the 2009 Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical, the production is directed by Diane Paulus and choreographed by Karole Armitage. Hair features a book and lyrics by Gerome Ragni and James Rado and music by Galt MacDermot. The creative team also includes Scott Pask (scenic design), Michael McDonald (costume design), Kevin Adams (lighting design), and Acme Sound Partners (sound design).

DeGarmo was a 2004 finalist on American Idol and most recently appeared Off-Broadway in The Toxic Avenger. Riabko has starred as Melchior on Broadway and in the national tour of the musical Spring Awakening. Young is also a former American Idol contestant, and recently starred in the national tour of Grease.

As previously announced, most of the original Broadway cast will be moving to the West End to open at London’s Gilegud Theatre. Previews begin on April 1, with an opening set for April 14.

For more information, visit

Featured In This Story