TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Suzi Bass Award Winners Announced logo
Andy Blankenbuehler
(© Tristan Fuge)
The winners of the 2010-2011 Suzi Bass Awards, honoring the best in Atlanta-area theater, have been announced. The prizes were presented in a ceremony held on Monday, November 7.

The most honored production is Horizon Theatre's staging of Avenue Q, which has earned a total of seven awards, including the prize in the Production - Musical category. In addition, Heidi Cline McKerley has won for her direction of the show and performers Nick Arapoglou and Leslie W. Bellair have been honored for their work in the show.

The show that received the award in the World Premiere category is Bring It On: The Musical, which has music by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Tom Kitt, lyrics by Miranda and Amanda Green, and a book by Jeff Whitty. In addition, Andy Blankenbuehler has won a Bass Award for his choreography for the production.

In non-musical categories, the Alliance Theatre's production of Tracy Letts' August: Osage County has been the most highly honored, receiving four awards. In addition to picking up awards for director Susan V. Booth and actress Tess Malis Kincaid, the show won the award in the Production - Play category.

Other Bass Award winners include Christopher Corporandy, Eric J. Little, Mary Lynn Owen, Adrienne Reynolds, and Jeremy Wood.

For more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story