Special Reports

10 Magical Summer Stock Memories

Danny Burstein, Isabel Keating, Jan Maxwell, Patrick Page, Max von Essen and more stars fondly recall their earliest days in professional theater.

Max von Essen in Cabaret
(© Charr Crail)
Max von Essen in Cabaret
(© Charr Crail)

Ask most actors what the word “summer” means to them, and they’ll tell you “summer stock.” And they don’t mean buying shares of Google in July, but the regional theatrical experiences that started their careers. TheaterMania recently asked 10 Broadway greats to talk about their early days in summer stock.

Max von Essen

I’ve always been obsessed with summer stock. I knew it was something I had to do, and I’ve had some amazing experiences. Probably my favorite place is Sacramento Music Circus, where they’ve been so good to me and continue to take chances on me. My favorite role there was the Emcee in Cabaret. That’s one I wouldn’t normally have the opportunity to take on, but they trusted me and it turned out to be amazing. Another favorite is Pittsburgh Civic Light Opera, where a few years ago I played Fredric in Pirates of Penzance. We only had five days to stage it, so I studied the music for weeks before I flew there and, on arrival, I dived in like a crazy person. It turned out to be one of the absolute best theatrical experiences I’ve ever had! Probably my all time favorite summer stock experience was Hair at Bay Street Theatre back in 2001. Being so young, playing Claude, bonding with my amazing cast and experiencing it with the backdrop of beautiful Sag Harbor all came together in a sort of indescribable theatrical alchemy. I’ll never forget it!

Danny Burstein