Charles Busch
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Charles Busch
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Charles Busch, Melissa Errico, Alison Fraser, and Joan Rivers will be among the performers and presenters at the 21st annual MAC Awards, which will be presented on May 1 at B.B. King Blues Club.

Other stars who will participate in the show, to be directed by Phil Geoffrey Bond, include John Bucchino, Jamie deRoy, David Friedman, Julie Gold, Carol Hall, Henry Krieger, Mark Nadler, Lee Roy Reams, Rex Reed, Stephen Schwartz, KT Sullivan, Alysha Umphress, John Wallowitch, and David Zippel.

In addition to the regular awards, Lifetime Achievement awards will be presented to singer/actress Dody Goodman and club owner Jan Wallman. Board of Directors Awards will be presented to singer Karen Mason, Seth Rudetsky and his Broadway Chatterbox series, and Lincoln Center's American Songbook series. In addition, Adam Feldman of Time Out New York will present that magazine's special award to singer Leslie Kritzer for her acclaimed Patti LuPone tribute show.

Tickets to the show range from $40-$125; there is a two-drink minimum and a full dinner menu will be available. For more information, visit

A complete list of nominees follows.


Female Vocalist
Lisa Asher
Cynthia Crane
Barbara Fasano
Jeanne MacDonald
Sue Matsuki

Male Vocalist
Patrick DeGennaro
Colm Reilly
Anthony Santelmo Jr.
Marcus Simeone

Major Artist - Female
Joanne Beretta
Lina Koutrakos
Maude Maggart

Major Artist - Male
Eric Comstock
Jeff Harnar
Billy Stritch
Ronny Whyte

New York Debut - Female
Esther Beckman
Sophia Bilides
Judy Butterfield
Candice Harper
Micaela Leon
Valerie Kanofsky
Maxine Lineham
Charlotte Philley

New York Debut - Male
Jean Brassard
Rob Langeder
Russ Lorenson

Steven Brinberg (as Barbra Streisand)
Tommy Femia (as Judy Garland)
Jimmy James (as various divas)

Musical Comedy Performer - Female
Lorinda Lisitza
Karen Mack
Kristine Zbornik

Cabaret Comedy / Musical Comedy Performer - Male
Scott Nevins
Jay Rogers
Shawn Ryan

Vocal Duo or Group
Tom Andersen, Scott Coulter, & Tim Di Pasqua
Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano
3 Men & A Baby...Grand

Musical Comedy Duo or Group / Special Production
Bring Back Birdie
Thomas Honeck's Dreaming Wide Awake
The Music of Steve Marzullo
Talk of the Town
A Very Bette Christmas

Her Song
Johnny Mercer Sings --The Songs He Didn't Write
When the Lights Go On Again

Variety Production/Recurring Series
Jamie deRoy & friends
Poole Party!
Trudy Mann's Fabulous Open Mic for Singers

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer
Leslie Anderson
David Colbert
Maria Gentile
Eric Pickering

Piano Bar/Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist
Bobby Peaco
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark

Ritt Henn
Steven Lutvak
John Wallowitch

Musical Director
Christopher Denny
Tedd Firth
Daryl Kojak
Barry Levitt
Tracy Stark

Phil Geoffrey Bond
Linda Amiel Burns
Lina Koutrakos
Miles Phillips

Technical Director
Michael Barbieri
Shane Mathews
Jean-Pierre Perreaux

"Beautiful Mistake" -- music by John Bucchino, lyrics by Amanda McBroom
"I Am Still" -- music by Steven Landau, lyrics by D.C. Anderson
"Since I Lost You" -- words and music by Paul Rolnick & Gerry Dieffenbach
"Somewhere in This Song" -- words and music by Nicholas Levin
"A Strong Wind" -- music by Steven Silverstein, lyrics by Ruth Williamson

Special Musical Material
"Come Back For More" -- words and music by Nicholas Levin
"Fat Christmas" -- words and music by Kevin Ray
"Marthe of Montmartre" -- words and music by Francesca Blumenthal
"Not Another Cabaret" -- words and music by Jason Wynn
"What She's Got" -- words and music by Ray Jessel

Barbara Fasano -- "Written in the Stars"
"It's Only Life" -- music and lyrics by John Bucchino
Jamie deRoy & friends -- "If I Sing"
Jim Van Slyke -- "Open Road"
Shaynee Rainbolt -- "At Home"

Jazz Recording
Judy Barnett -- "Too Darn Hot"
Mary Foster Conklin -- "Blues for Breakfast - Remembering Matt Dennis"
Stevie Holland -- "More Than Words Can Say"
Daryl Sherman -- "Guess Who's In Town"
Marlene VerPlanck -- "Marlene VerPlanck NOW!"

Jazz Vocalist - Female
Mychelle Colleary
Laurie Krauz
Jane Scheckter
Ejaye Tracey
Alysha Umphress

Jazz Vocalist - Male
Scot Albertson
John DeMarco
Frank Fontana
Dane Vanatter

Major Jazz Vocalist
Judy Barnett
Adi Braun
Allan Harris
Hilary Kole
Laurel Massé

Jazz Duo/Group
Bill Charlap Trio
Barry Levitt Quartet
Michele Ramo & Heidi Hepler
Pinky Winters & Richard Rodney Bennett

Stand-Up Comic Female
Ophira Eisenberg
Poppi Kramer
Anne Neczypor
Chelsea Peretti
Darlene Violette

Stand-Up Comic Male
Michael Brill
David Hodorowski
Nick Kroll
Joe Minolfi
John Mulaney

Major Stand-Up Comic - Female
Erin Foley
Julie Goldman
Cory Kahaney
Laurie Kilmartin
Maureen Langan

Major Stand-Up Comic - Male
Ted Alexandro
Ben Bailey
Todd Barry
Mike Birbiglia
Greg Giraldo

Comedy/Improv Duo or Group
Hot Sauce
Oh, Hello
The Next Big Broadway Musical
TJ & Dave