TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hairspray Cast to Help Signature Ring in the New Year logo
Robert Aubry Davis
(© John Harrington)
The Arlington, Virginia-based Signature Theatre will hold its annual New Year's Eve party on Saturday, December 31, which will begin with a performance of Signature's production of Hairspray at 8pm. Party-goers will then count down to the new year with the show's entire cast.

Eric Schaeffer directs Hairspray, which runs November 21-January 29. Based on the 1988 cult film directed by John Waters, Hairspray features music by Marc Shaiman, lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman, and a book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan. The musical won eight 2003 Tony Awards, including "Best Musical."

National radio host Robert Aubry Davis will star as Edna Turnblad, with the cast also featuring Carolyn Cole (Tracy Turnblad), Nova Y. Payton (Motormouth Mable), Sherri L. Edelen (Velma Von Tussle), Patrick Thomas Cragin (Link Larkin), Harry A. Winter (Wilbur Turnblad), Erin Driscoll (Amber Von Tussle), James Hayden Rodriguez (Seaweed), Stephen Gregory Smith (Corny Collins), and Lauren Williams (Penny Pingleton).

The ensemble will include Jennifer Cameron, Matthew Conner, Parker Drown, Jamie Eacker, Nick Hovsepian, Brandi Knox, Sean-Maurice Lynch, Kirstin Riegler, Nickolas Vaughan, Kara-Tameika Watkins, Matthew Wojtal, and Stephen Scott Wormley.

The creative team will include Karma Camp (choreographer), Dan Conway (set designer), Kathleen Geldard (costume designer), Colin K. Bills (lighting designer), and Matt Rowe (sound designer). Jon Kalbfleisch is the music director, with Gabriel Mangiante conducting a 9-piece orchestra.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story