TheaterMania Logo

About this show

American Symphony Orchestra presents The Gathering Storm. Leon Botstein, Conductor Frank Bridge: Oration for Cello and Orchestra (1930) Matt Haimovitz, Cello Arthur Bliss: Piano Concerto (1939) Piers Lane, Piano Ralph Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 4 (1934) Experience three tumultuous works composed as the storm of war gathered over England, beginning with Frank Bridge's moving "Oration" for cello and orchestra. Piers Lane returns to the American Symphony Orchestra to perform the lively Piano Concerto of Arthur Bliss. To conclude, the Fourth Symphony of Ralph Vaughan Williams anticipates all that Britain would soon endure.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:David Geffen Hall, New York City