TheaterMania Logo

About this show

Silvestre Revueltas Redes (suite by Erich Kleiber) (1943) Manuel Ponce - Manuel Ponce, Violin Concerto (1943) Anne Akiko Meyers - Violin Carlos Chávez - Symphony No. 1 "Sinfonia di Antigona" (1933) Silvestre Revueltas - La noche de los mayas (1939) The seductive, sensual music of Mexico. Only forty years old at his death in 1939, Silvestre Revueltas left just a handful of masterpieces. Two of his most powerful--Redes and La Noche de los Mayas--will be performed. His contemporary, Manuel Ponce, composed his Violin Concerto in 1943. The work was premiered in Mexico City by Henryk Szeryng, and conducted by Carlos Chávez. It was Chávez who would emerge as the most renowned of the three. His "Symphony after Sophocles" Sinfonia di Antigona, shows the first flash of Chávez's genius.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:David Geffen Hall, New York City