The Orphans’ Home Cycle

Buy Tickets


About This Show

Classical in its breadth and scope, The Orphans’ Home Cycle begins with a father’s death in a small-Texas town at the turn of the century, a loss that sends his son, Horace Robedaux, on an odyssey through the darkest corners of the heart as he learns to become a husband, father, and patriarch. Set in Foote’s fictitious town of Harrison, Texas and based partly on the childhood of Foote’s father and the courtship and marriage of his parents, the cycle is a wide-ranging, intricate work.

Part One (Performances begin November 5, opens November 19) begins at the turn of the 20th century with the plays Roots in a Parched Ground, Convicts and Lily Dale and follows Horace Robedaux in his formative years.

Part Two (Performances begin December 3, opens December 17) focuses on the married life of Horace Robedaux and his new wife and is made up of the plays The Widow Claire, Courtship and Valentine’s Day.

Part Three (Performances begin January 7, opens January 26) consists of the plays 1918, Cousins and The Death of Papa and begins with the turmoil of World War I and ends with the characters looking to the future of their family and land.

Three of the individual plays, Roots in a Parched Ground, Convicts and Cousins receive their world premieres as part of the cycle.

Show Details

Dates: Opening Night: November 5, 2009 Final Performance: May 8, 2010

Theatermania Review

| | January 26, 2010
The final installment of Horton Foote’s remarkable epic only partially fulfills the promise of the material.

You Might Also Like


Performances begin: April 20, 2024

Mid Life Mood Swing

One Night Only: April 19, 2024


Performances begin: May 25, 2024

Invasive Species

Performances begin: May 7, 2024

Scarlett Dreams

Final performance: May 26, 2024