About This Show

Rebel Theater Company Inc. presents A Night of Artistic Inspiration celebrating Rebel Theater’s first anniversary. The evening begins with the Anniversary Reception from 7 – 8 PM followed by Arts Night awards ceremony with an array of artistic performances at 8 PM. Rajendra Ramoon Maharaj presents the first annual Revolutionary Award for Sustained Excellence to legendary theater producer Woodie King, Jr. culminating with an array of artistic performances.

Arts Night awards ceremony scheduled guests speakers include: TV, film & Broadway star Ruby Dee, American poet, playwright, and political activist Amiri Baraka, director, writer and educator Shauneille Perry, TV & film actor Jerome Preston Bates, poet & playwright Sybill Roberts Williams, TV, film & Broadway actors: Chadwick Boseman, Ebony Jo-Ann, Trish McCall, actress/playwright & Hip-Hop Theatre’s Artistic Director Kamilah Forbes, and regional director and educator Tom Bullard.

Arts Night features scheduled performing artists: Eric Anthony (Hairspray, Lion King, Mary Poppins), Britton Jones (History of the Word, Damn Yankees), Arthur Toombs (African Drummer, Union Square), Raun Ruffin (Civil War, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat), Margot Ebling (The Seagull, Intimate Apparel), Sandra Mills Scott (All My Children, Intimate Apparel), Angela Kariotis (History of the Word, Reminiscence of the Ghetto), Jessica Fields (Magpie, Welcome to my Soul), Sherry Boone (Jelly’s Last Jam, Marie Christine), Hisham Tawfig (Intimate Apparel), Myla Churchill (A Band of Angels, Union Square), Shannon Michael Wamser (Two Gentlemen of Verona, The Laramie Project), Joey Rizzolo (Union Square, New York Neo-Futurists).

Show Details

Dates: One Night Only: August 25, 2006
Location: Julia de Burgos Cultural Center, New York City

1680 Lexington Ave,

New York,


View Map

You Might Also Like

Not Broadway’s Mark MacKillop

One Night Only: September 2, 2024

Opening Night

One Night Only: October 10, 2024

Lyrics & Lyricists

Performances begin: May 31, 2025

Lyrics & Lyricists

Performances begin: March 1, 2025