TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Anne Allgood, Todd Jefferson Moore Among Winners of First Annual Gypsy Rose Lee Awards logo
Anne Allgood
Seattle Theater Writers, a group of 11 local theater writers and reviewers, have named the 2011 winners of the first annual Gypsy Rose Lee Awards. The awards recognize excellence in Seattle-area productions across the Equity and non-Equity spectrum.

Excellence in Production of a Play went to Seattle Rep's The Brothers Size (Equity) and New City Theater's Sick (Non-Equity). Excellence in Production of a Musical went to Village Theatre's Iron Curtain (Equity) and Seattle Musical Theatre's The Drowsy Chaperone (Non-Equity).

In performance categories, winners included Anne Allgood (Mary Stuart), Stacie Calkins, (Hairspray), Jaryl Draper, (How I Learned To Drive), Bobbi Kotula (Iron Curtain), Aaron Lamb (An Ideal Husband), Todd Jefferson Moore (A Midsummer Night's Dream), Michael Patten (O Lovely Glowworm (Or Scenes of Great Beauty)), and the ensemble casts of The Brothers Size and Brownie Points.

Winning directors included Juliette Carrillo (The Brothers Size), Brandon Ivie (The Drowsy Chaperone), Karen Lund (Brownie Points), and Steve Tomkins (Iron Curtain). Musical director winners include RJ Tancioco (Iron Curtain) and Josh Zimmerman (Hairspray).

The winner in the Excellence in Choreography or Movement category was Sonia Dawkins (The Brothers Size). Elizabeth Kenny won Excellence in Local Playwriting for Sick.

Winners in design categories include Harmony Arnold, Roger Benington, Geoff Korf, Mark Lund, Tess Malone, Christopher Overstreet, Deborah Sorenson, and Matt Starritt.

Tagged in this Story