TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Barrymore Awards Return to Philadelphia

Read the complete list of 2014 winners.

The Arden Theatre Company's production of Parade was among the Barrymore Best Musical nominees. Ben Dibble, Derrick Cobey, and Kenita Miller, who starred in the production, took home Barrymores for Best Leading Actor, Best Supporting Actor, and Best Supporting Actress, respectively.
(© Mark Garvin)

On Monday evening, Philadelphia celebrated the official revival its Barrymore Awards for Excellence in Theatre, hosting the first full Barrymore Awards since 2011. The ceremony was held at the Merriam Theater, followed by an after-party at the Kimmel Center, and distributed 26 awards before an audience of 700 theater artists, administrators, critics, and friends. A total of 31 professional theater companies participated in the adjudication process during the 2013-14 season.

In addition to the competitive categories, a Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Philadelphia actress and teacher Carla Belver. A founding member of the Philadelphia Theatre Company, Belver has long been associated with People's Light and Theatre Company. Throughout her career, she has also performed with Arden Theatre Company, Walnut Street Theatre, Philadelphia Festival Theatre for New Plays, and Act II Playhouse, where she is currently starring as Amanda Wingfield in Tennessee Williams' The Glass Menagerie.

Liz Filios, who took home the 2014 Outstanding Leading Actress in a Musical Award for her performance in as divorce lawyer Helena in Inis Nua Theatre Company's Midsummer [a play with songs], was also awarded the F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Philadelphia Theatre Artist.

To read the complete list of 2014 Barrymore Award nominees and winners, click here.