TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

York Theatre Company Announces Cast for Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala

The evening will honor ''Fantasticks'' composers Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt. logo
Betsy Wolfe will take part in the 2017 Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala for the York Theatre Company.
(© David Gordon)

The York Theatre Company has announced the lineup for its upcoming tribute to The Fantasticks writers Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt. The pair will receive the 2017 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre at the 26th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala set for Monday, December 4, at the Asia Society.

Performers will include Bryan Batt (La Cage aux Folles), Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford (I'm Getting My Act Together and Taking It on the Road), Robert Cuccioli (Rothschild and Sons), John Davidson (State Fair), Rita Gardner (The Fantasticks), Adam Kantor (Fiddler on the Roof), Judy Kaye (Souvenir), Norm Lewis (Porgy and Bess), Michele McConnell (The Phantom of the Opera), Tracy Lynn Olivera (Ragtime), Frances Ruffelle (Les Misérables), Christopher Sieber (Matilda), Lesley Ann Warren (110 In the Shade), Susan Watson (Bye Bye Birdie), Betsy Wolfe (Waitress), and Freddie Gershon.

Richard Jay-Alexander directs, with Andrew Gerle serving as musical director. The Oscar Hammerstein Award recognizes significant lifetime achievement in musical theater, and is presented at a gala evening held for the benefit of the York Theatre Company.