TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Signature Theatre 2017 Gala to Celebrate Residency One Playwright Suzan-Lori Parks

The event will feature performances by Michael McKean, Daphne Rubin-Vega, and more. logo
Suzan Lori-Parks will be honored at the 2017 Signature Theatre Gala.
(© David Gordon)

The Signature Theatre annual gala is set to take place on May 8 at the Pershing Square Signature Center. The event, hosted by Signature Board Chair Edward Norton, will celebrate Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks, Signature's 2016-17 Residency One Playwright, as well as Signature's official airline Delta Air Lines.

This year's gala will include cocktails, dinner, and entertainment with special appearances by Brandon J. Dirden, Michael McKean, Alicia Hall Moran, Daphne Rubin-Vega, and Daniel J. Watts. In addition to celebrating Parks and Delta Air Lines, the gala will also raise funds to support Signature's artistic programs and the Signature Ticket Initiative: A Generation of Access.

Delta Air Lines will receive the inaugural Margot Adams Signature Award in memory of Adams' husband Mason. Adams is a long-standing Signature Trustee. Henry Kuykendall, Vice President – New York, will accept the award on behalf of Delta Air Lines.

Parks is a MacArthur Award winner. Her work as a playwright includes 2002 Pulitzer Prize-winning Topdog/Underdog, Venus, and Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3).

Cochairs for the event include Sylvana Ward Durrett; Kate and Harold Hope; Daniela and Ted Lundberg; Nina B. Matis and Alan Gosule; Edward Norton and Shauna Robertson; Kristen M. O'Hara; Edward G. Skyler, Citi; Mark Subias; Sara and Nathaniel Zilkha; Bank of America; Bloomberg Philanthropies; and Time Warner Inc.

For tickets to the gala, click here.


Tagged in this Story