TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Page 73 Productions Announces C.A. Johnson as 2018 Playwriting Fellow

Quiara Alegría Hudes, Heidi Schreck, and John J. Caswell Jr. are among previous P73 fellows.

C.A. Johnson will be Page 73 Productions' 2018 Playwriting Fellow, joining a list of alumni that include Quiara Alegría Hudes, and Heidi Schreck.
(photo provided by Matt Ross Public Relations)

Page 73 Productions announced that C.A. Johnson will be its 2018 Playwriting Fellow. She will receive a $10,000 award and an additional $10,000 budgeted for developing several new plays over the course of the year. Quiara Alegría Hudes, Heidi Schreck, and John J. Caswell Jr. are among previous Page 73 fellows.

"C.A.'s broad theatrical interests have resulted in an early body of work containing many genres and subjects," said Page 73 producing artistic director Michael Walkup in a statement. "The common thread I applaud is the abundant empathy C.A. holds for every character she writes. Her stories pull you in for showing intricate and carefully wrought conflicts among disparate people, and she'll hit you with a surprising shift or conclusion that sticks in your heart and mind long after the play ends."

In addition, Page 73 announced that, later this month, it will produce, in association with Musial Theatre Factory, a "Page 2" staged reading of Michael R. Jackson's musical A Strange Loop, with director Stephen Brackett and musical director Matt Castle leading a cast of seven, with movement by Raja Feather Kelly.

Plus, it has named Eleanor Burgess, Emily Feldman, Amina Henry, Darrel Alejandro Holnes, Daniel K. Isaac, Michael R. Jackson, Gordon Leary, Julia Meinwald, and Gary Winter as members of the 2018 Interstate 73 Writers Group, which offers writers a year of bimonthly meetings to share new pages of works-in-progress. Each writer will receive a stipend and also have a reading during the company's 2018-19 season.