TheaterMania Logo
Home link

2015 National High School Musical Theatre Award Winners Are Announced

Meet the Best Actor and Actress who wowed judges with their work in Tarzan and Caroline, or Change.

Anthony Skillman and Marla Louissaint take home 2015 Jimmy Awards for their performances in Tarzan and Caroline, or Change, respectively.
(© Henry McGee)

The winners of the 2015 National High School Musical Theatre Awards were announced at a celebration on June 29 at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre.

Recipient of the Best Actress title was New York-based Marla Louissaint for her performance as Caroline in The Beacon School's production of Jeanine Tesori and Tony Kushner's Caroline, or Change. The Best Actor honor was received by Anthony Skillman of North Tustin, California for his performance as the title role in Orange Lutheran High School's production of Phil Collins' and David Henry Hwang's Tarzan.

Marla Louissaint sings onstage at the Minskoff Theatre.
(© Henry McGee)

The ceremony was hosted by Fun Home Tony winner Michael Cerveris. Students qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical-theater awards competitions presented by Broadway League member performing arts centers. Over 1,000 high schools and 50,000 students participate in these annual events. The National High School Musical Theatre Awards are also known as the Jimmy Awards in honor of producer James M. Nederlander.

Since its inception in 2009, the NHSMTA has enabled over $1,000,000 in university and conservatory scholarships to be awarded to talented students at the national and local level. NHSMTA nominees prepare for their Broadway debut during a five-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members plus other theater professionals.

Anthony Skillman performs as part of the 2015 Jimmy Awards.
(© Henry McGee)

For the full list of 2015 nominees, click here.