Photo Flash

Joshua Henry, Jessie Mueller, Lindsay Mendez, and More Open in Carousel

The Rodgers and Hammerstein musical returns to Broadway.

Jessie Mueller takes a bow as Joshua Henry looks on.
Jessie Mueller takes a bow as Joshua Henry looks on.
(© David Gordon)

Jack O'Brien's Broadway revival of Carousel celebrated its opening night at the Imperial Theatre on April 12.

The production stars Tony nominee Joshua Henry as Billy Bigelow, Tony Award winner Jessie Mueller as Julie Jordan, Renée Fleming (in her first-ever appearance in a Broadway musical) as Nettie Fowler, Lindsay Mendez as Carrie Pipperidge, Alexander Gemignani as Enoch Snow, Margaret Colin as Mrs. Mullin, Amar Ramasar as Jigger, Brittany Pollack as Louise, and John Douglas Thompson as the Starkeeper.

Carousel first opened on Broadway on April 19, 1945. Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II transported the drama, based on Ferenc Molnár's play Liliom, from the outskirts of Budapest to a New England mill town, where the story focuses on the tragic romance between carnival barker Billy Bigelow and factory worker Julie Jordan.

The ensemble of Carousel features Colin Anderson, Yesenia Ayala, Nicholas Belton, Colin Bradbury, Andrei Chagas, Leigh-Ann Esty, Laura Feig, David Michael Garry, Garett Hawe, Rosena M. Hill Jackson, Amy Justman, Jess LeProtto, Skye Mattox, Kelly McCormick, Anna Noble, Adriana Pierce, Rebecca Pitcher, David Prottas, Amy Ruggiero, Craig Salstein, Ahmad Simmons, Antoine L. Smith, Corey John Snide, Erica Spyres, Ryan Steele, Sam Strasfeld, Halli Toland, Ricky Ubeda, Scarlett Walker, Jacob Keith Watson, and William Youmans.

The creative team includes four-time Tony Award winner Santo Loquasto (set design); Tony and Academy Award winner Ann Roth (costume design); five-time Tony winner Brian MacDevitt (lighting design); Tony Award winner Scott Lehrer (sound design); Tony, Grammy, Emmy, and Academy Award winner Jonathan Tunick (orchestrations); and Andy Einhorn (musical supervision and direction).

For tickets and more information, click here.