TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Kristin Chenoweth, Tovah Feldshuh, Nellie McKay, Geoffrey Rush, et al. Set for Theatre World Awards

Geoffrey Rush
(© Tristan Fuge)
The Theatre World Awards have announced its 2009 recipients, which will be presented at an an invitation-only ceremony at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, on June 2. TheaterMania contributor Peter Filichia will host, with direction by Barry Keating.

Presenters, all of whom are past winners, will include Craig Bierko, Daniel Breaker, Kristin Chenoweth, Tovah Feldshuh, Susan Kellermann, Loretta Ables Sayre, and John Tartaglia. There will also be performances by former Theatre World Award winners, including Ann Hampton Callaway, Nellie McKay, and Vivian Reed

The awards, which honor Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performances during the 2008-2009 theatrical season will be given to David Alvarez / Trent Kowalik / Kiril Kulish, Billy Elliot, The Musical; Chad L. Coleman, Joe Turner's Come and Gone; Jennifer Grace, Our Town; Josh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The Musical; Haydn Gwynne, Billy Elliot, The Musical; Colin Hanks, 33 Variations; Marin Ireland, reasons to be pretty; Susan Louise O'Connor, Blithe Spirit; Condola Rashad, Ruined; Geoffrey Rush, Exit the King; Josefina Scaglione, West Side Story; and Wesley Taylor, Rock of Ages. In addition, a special award will be given to the entire cast of The Norman Conquests: Amelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter, and Amanda Root.

This year's Theatre World Awards committee includes David Cote, Peter Filichia, Harry Haun, Matthew Murray, Frank Scheck, Doug Watt, and Linda Winer.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story