TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Works by Lee Blessing, Steven Dietz, Tracy Letts, and More Named Finalists for Steinberg/ATCA Award logo
Jon Michael Hill and Michael McKean in
Steppenwolf's production of Superior Donuts
(© Michael Brosilow)
The American Theatre Critics Association (ATCA) has selected six finalists for the 2009 Harold and Mimi Steinberg/ATCA New Play Award, which recognizes the best new scripts produced professionally outside New York City during 2008.

The winner and two additional citations will be presented April 4 at Actors Theatre of Louisville during the Humana Festival of New American Plays. The top award includes a commemorative plaque and a cash prize of $25,000, with $7,500 for each citation.

The play finalists include Becky's New Car by Steven Dietz, Great Falls by Lee Blessing, Lydia by Octavio Solis, Our Enemies: Lively Scenes of Love and Combat by Yussef El Guindi, Song of Extinction by E.M. Lewis, and Superior Donuts by Tracy Letts.

The finalists were selected from plays nominated by ATCA members, then evaluated by a committee of 13 theater critics, led by chairman Wm. F. Hirschman, and also including Misha Berson, Bruce Burgun, Michael Elkin, Jay Handelman, Pam Harbaugh, Leonard Jacobs, Chad Jones, Elizabeth Keill, Elizabeth Maupin, Wendy Parker, Michael Sander, and Herb Simpson.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story