TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Tony Nominators Named for 2002-2003 logo

The Tony Award
The starter pistol has been fired for the 2002-2003 Tony Awards race: Today, the Tony administration committee announced who will be on the nominating committee for this season.

The eight new members added this year are: general manager Ira Bernstein; cultural executive Schuyler G. Chapin; press representative Merle Debuskey; casting director Julie Hughes; playwright David Lindsay-Abaire; casting director Shirley Rich; press representative Bill Schelble; and arts educator Sister Francesca Thompson. They join such pre-existing members as journalist David Richards, composer/lyricist Micki Grant, and the actors Jim Dale and Maureen Anderman. Members serve three-year terms; among those leaving this year are lyricist Sheldon Harnick and composer Galt MacDermot.

It will be the job of the 29-member nominating committee to attend every production that opens during the 2002-2003 Broadway season and then vote on which shows will be nominated, in which categories, for consideration by the more than 700 eligible Tony voters.

Tagged in this Story