TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Tony Awards Administration Committee Announces Final Decisions; Sarah Jones to Receive Special Tony Award logo
Sarah Jones in Bridge and Tunnel
(Photo © Paul Kolnik)
The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced its final decisions for the 2005-2006 season. Nominations will be announced on Tuesday, May 16, and the Tony Awards will be presented on Sunday, June 11 in a live ceremony at Radio City Music Hall.

The committee's biggest decision was to eliminate the Special Theatrical Event category and instead award Bridge and Tunnel star and writer Sarah Jones a Special Tony Award. In addition, Richard Greenberg's Three Days of Rain will be considered in the Revival of a Play category, although it has never been seen before on Broadway.

The following decisions were made in regard to acting categories for shows that opened on April 19 or thereafter. All other decisions are consistent with opening night credits:

Lead Actor in a Play: Richard Griffiths (The History Boys), Brian F. O'Byrne (Shining City), Oliver Platt (Shining City), David Wilmot (The Lieutenant of Inishmore)

Lead Actor in a Musical: Stephen Lynch (The Wedding Singer), Bob Martin (The Drowsy Chaperone), Hugh Panaro (Lestat), Josh Strickland (Tarzan)

Lead Actress in a Musical: Laura Benanti (The Wedding Singer), Sutton Foster (The Droswy Chaperone), Jenn Gambatese (Tarzan)

Featured Actor in a Play: Bradley Cooper (Three Days of Rain), Ian McDiarmid (Faith Healer), Tim Daly (The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial)

Featured Actress in a Play: Cherry Jones (Faith Healer)

Featured Actor in a Musical: Jim Dale (The Threepenny Opera)

Featured Actress in a Musical: Ana Gasteyer and Cyndi Lauper (The Threepenny Opera)

Tagged in this Story