TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Playing on Air Announces Jury for Inaugural James Stevenson Prize

The theatrical podcast is seeking submissions of short comedic plays.

Playwright Branden Jacobs-Jenkins joins the jury for Playing on Air's inaugural James Stevenson Prize.
(© David Gordon)

Playing on Air announced today the names of the three celebrity guests joining sponsor Josie Merck on the jury for their inaugural James Stevenson Prize, which will award three monetary prizes for new short comedic plays that honor and perpetuate the spirit and wit of the famed New Yorker cartoonist.

Merck and Playing on Air will be joined by playwrights Willy Holtzman, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, and Paul Rudnick to select the first-ever winner and runners-up of the James Stevenson Prize. First prize offers writers a $7,500 award, plus a Playing on Air recording of the play for radio and podcast distribution. Second and third prizes offer writers a $2,000 and $1,000 award, respectively.

Playing on Air is a public radio show and podcast that features short, contemporary plays recorded by world-class artists. Playwrights represented on Playing on Air thus far include David Ives, Lynn Nottage, David Auburn, Beth Henley, Christopher Durang, Jesse Eisenberg, Julia Cho, Doug Wright, Alexandra Gersten-Vassilaros, John Patrick Shanley, Arlene Hutton, Donald Margulies, Cusi Cram, Paul Rudnick, Jacquelyn Reingold, John Guare, Sheri Wilner, Lanford Wilson, Rachel Bonds, Willy Holtzman, Cori Thomas, Daniel Reitz, and David Lindsay-Abaire.

Submissions of short comedic plays (10-25 pages) will be accepted via Google Form with a deadline of noon on July 1. For more information, click here.

Playing on Air can be downloaded from iTunes Podcasts or streamed directly from the Playing on Air website here.