TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

PHOTO FLASH: Jasmine Guy, Kenny Leon, Lynn Notage At August Wilson Monologue Competition Finals logo
Guy Davis, David Gallo, Kenny Leon, Jasmine Guy, James A. Williams, Lynn Nottage,
Tyler Edwards, Christian Helem, Hilda Willis, Saidah Wade, and Crystal Dickinson

The finals of the 4th Annual August Wilson Monologue Competition were held on Monday, May 7 at the August Wilson Theatre.

For the finals, 15 high school students from around the country competed, with Saidah Wade winning the competition. Christian Helem took second place, and Tyler Edwards took third place. Each of them were awarded college scholarship opportunities in addition to monetary awards and the gift of TCG's Century Cycle collection of Wilson's plays.

Judges for the event include Crystal A. Dickinson, David Gallo, Jasmine Guy, Lynn Nottage, and James A. Williams.

Founded in 2007, the Annual August Wilson Monologue Competition aims to expose a new generation of creative minds to the life's work and artistic legacy of this seminal American playwright. Program participants in cities across the country encounter Wilson's ten-play cycle and receive coaching from teaching artists and others, such as director Kenny Leon, as they prepare their monologues for local, city-wide and national competitions.


Tagged in this Story