Theater News

Indecent and Kinky Boots Stars to Perform in Tribute to Daryl Roth and Paula Vogel

The New Dramatists Spring Luncheon will feature Broadway performances.

The cast of Indecent will honor Daryl Roth and Paula Vogel at the New Dramatists Spring Luncheon.
The cast of Indecent will honor Daryl Roth and Paula Vogel at the New Dramatists Spring Luncheon.
(© Carol Rosegg)

Performers have been announced for the New Dramatists' 68th Annual Spring Luncheon tribute, honoring 10-time Tony Award-winning producer Daryl Roth and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Paula Vogel.

The event, to be held Tuesday, May 16, at the New York Marriott Marquis, will feature performances by Kinky Boots stars Killian Donnelly and J. Harrison Ghee, as well as a performance from the Broadway cast of Vogel's Indecent. There will also be special tributes by award-winning playwrights Nilo Cruz and Sarah Ruhl, and Tony Award winner Cherry Jones.

Roth holds the singular distinction of producing seven Pulitzer Prize-winning plays: Paula Vogel's How I Learned to Drive; Anna in the Tropics; August: Osage County (2008 Tony Award); Clybourne Park (2012 Tony Award); Proof (2001 Tony Award); Edward Albee's Three Tall Women; and Wit. This season, she is producing the Broadway premiere of Paula Vogel's Indecent, bringing their collaboration full circle.

Vogel is now making her Broadway debut with Indecent, which was commissioned by Oregon Shakespeare Festival's American Revolutions and Yale Repertory Theatre. Her play How I Learned To Drive received the 1998 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, the Lortel Prize, Drama Desk, Outer Critics' and New York Drama Critics Award for Best Play, as well as winning her second Obie. Her other plays include the Long Christmas Ride Home, The Mineola Twins, The Baltimore Waltz, Hot'n'throbbing, Desdemona, And Baby Makes Seven, The Oldest Profession, and A Civil War Christmas.

New Dramatists aims to provide playwrights with time, space, and resources in the company of gifted peers to create work, realize their artistic potential, and make lasting contributions to the theater. Founded in 1949 by Michaela O'Harra in association with Howard Lindsay, Richard Rodgers, Russel Crouse, Oscar Hammerstein II, John Golden, Moss Hart, Maxwell Anderson, John Wharton, Robert E. Sherwood, and Elmer Rice, New Dramatists is one of the country's leading playwright centers and a nationally recognized new play laboratory.

For tickets and more information about the Spring Luncheon, click here.

Featured In This Story