TheaterMania Logo
Music News

Rise Cast Album to Be Released, With Song by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Songs from ''Spring Awakening'' and more will also be featured on the album. logo
The cast of NBC's new drama series Rise.
(© Peter Kramer/NBC)

Atlantic Records will release a series of albums tied to the new NBC musical drama series Rise. The series premieres Tuesday, March 13.

Each Friday beginning March 9, the show will release cast recordings of the tracks featured in the following Tuesday's episode. The weekly releases will culminate in the May 11 release of the full album, Rise Season 1: The Album.

Tracks released today at all streaming services and download platforms include Macklemore's "Glorious" performed by the company, as well as "I Believe," from Spring Awakening, and "Football Freestyle," written for the pilot episode by Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Rise is created by Jason Katims, who serves as showrunner and executive producer. Jeffrey Seller, Flody Suarez, and Michelle Lee also executive-produce. Mike Cahill directs and executive-produces the pilot.

Based on the book Drama High, the series follows a dedicated teacher who plans a school production of Spring Awakening. Josh Radnor and Rosie Perez head the cast, alongside Auli'i Cravalho, Damon J. Gillespie, Marley Shelton, Rarmian Newton, Ted Sutherland, Amy Forsyth, Casey W. Johnson, Taylor Richardson, Joe Tippett, and Shirley Rumierk.


Tagged in this Story