TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Lineup of Stars Announced for Drama Desk Awards logo

Rue McClanahan at the
Drama Desk Award nominees' reception
(Photo: Michael Portantiere)
Current Broadway stars Elaine Stritch, John Lithgow, Mos Def, Andrea Martin, Bill Pullman, Mercedes Ruehl, Vanessa Williams, and Jeffrey Wright will be presenters at the 47th Annual Drama Desk Awards on Sunday, May 19, 2002, at 9pm. Among those scheduled to perform live during the ceremony are Laura Benanti (Into the Woods), Brian d'Arcy James (Sweet Smell of Success), Louise Pitre (Mamma Mia!), Sherie René Scott (The Last 5 Years), and Patrick Wilson (Oklahoma!). As was previously announced, the host of the event will be Rue McClanahan, who appeared on Broadway earlier this season in The Women.

The awards ceremony will be held in the concert hall of Fiorello H. LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts, located at 100 Amsterdam Avenue at 65th Street (just behind Lincoln Center). A limited number of tickets are available for $175 to the public and $150 to members of the theater community; phoneSmartTix at 212-206-1515 for reservations.

There will be two receptions immediately preceding the awards show, the first for VIPs in the Grand Ballroom of the Helmsley Park Lane Hotel and the second for all ticket holders in the lobby of the LaGuardia concert hall. A post-event reception will take place at the Compass Restaurant and Bar, 208 West 70th Street, between West End and Amsterdam Avenues.

The awards ceremony will be telecast live in its entirety by NY1 News, with a rebroadcast set for Saturday, May 25 at 7pm. WNET-Channel 13 will also telecast the event on Monday, May 27 at 9pm. For further information, check the official Drama Desk web site at


Tagged in this Story