TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Hamlisch, Frankel, Korie, et al. to Receive Richard Rodgers Awards logo
Marvin Hamlisch
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Marvin Hamlisch, Scott Frankel, and Michael Korie will be among this year's recipients of the ASCAP Foundation's annual Richard Rodgers Awards, which will be presented on December 6 at Jazz at Lincoln Center. Over 30 other awards and scholarships will also be handed out during the ceremony.

Hamlisch, the composer of A Chorus Line, They're Playing Our Song, and numerous hit songs such as "The Way We Were," will receive the Richard Rodgers Award for Lifetime Achievement. Frankel and Korie, who wrote the score to the hit musical Grey Gardens, will receive the Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award, which recognizes emerging musical theater talent.

At the ceremony, Hamlisch will be saluted by fellow songwriter Alan Bergman and theater stars Liz Callaway and Brian d'Arcy James. Grey Gardens star Christine Ebersole will be on hand to salute Frankel and Korie.

Tagged in this Story