TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Full Cast, Creative Team Set for NYTW's The Seven logo
Will Power
(Photo © Joan Marcus)
The Seven, Will Power's hip-hop adaptation of Aeschylus' classic Greek drama Seven Against Thebes, will begin performances at New York Theatre Workshop on January 18. Directed by Jo Bonney and featuring choreography by Bill T. Jones, the production will officially open on February 12.

The 12-member cast consists of Uzo Abuda, Shawtane Monroe Bowen, Jamyl Dobson, Amber Efe, Edwin Lee Gibson, Benton Greene, Manuel Herrera, Flaco Navaja, Tom Nelis, Postell Pringle, Pearl Sun, and Charles Turner. The show's creative team includes Richard Hoover (set design), Emilio Sosa (costume design), David Weiner (lighting design), Darron L. West (sound design), Justin Ellington (music production and additional composition), Will Hammond (additional composition), and Daryl Waters (music direction).

Power is best known for his solo show FLOW. Bonney most recently directed the Second Stage production of A Soldier's Play. Jones is a former MacArthur Fellow and co-founder of the world-renowned Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company.

Tagged in this Story