TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Dee Dee Bridgewater, Kurt Elling, Sonny Rollins, et al. Among JJA Award Winners logo
Kurt Elling
(© Christian Lantry)
The winners of the 2011 Jazz Journalist Associations Awards were announced at a benefit gala at City Winery in New York City on June 11. Over 200 artists have been nominated in 39 categories.

Musician of the Year honors went to Sonny Rollins; Kurt Elling was named Male Singer of the Year, while Female Singer of the Year honors went to Tony Award winner Dee Dee Bridgewater. .

Ohter winners included Joe Lovano, Ambrose Akinmusire, Jimmy Health, Anat Cohen, Russell Malone, andFred Hersch.

For tickets and information, visit

Tagged in this Story