TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Christopher Plummer Will be Presented the Monte Cristo Award by Kevin Spacey

The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center to honor Plummer with the award at an April 15 gala. logo

Christopher Plummer
(© David Gordon)
The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center will honor iconic actor and Tony Award winner Christopher Plummer (Inherit the Wind) with the 13th annual Monte Cristo Award at a gala event on April 15. Tony Award winner Kevin Spacey (A Moon for the Misbegotten), who received the award in 2009, will present Plummer with the honor.

The Monte Cristo Award recognizes a prominent theater artist for a distinguished career that the organization believes exemplifies Eugene O'Neill's "pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence." In addition to Spacey, past recipients have included Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Harold Prince, Wendy Wasserstein, and Karl Malden.

The gala event will feature a red carpet and cocktails as well as musical tributes, readings, and remarks by Plummer's close friends and colleagues. O'Neill Executive Director Preston Whiteway and Chairman Tom Viertel will host.

Christopher Plummer has won Tony Awards for his performances in the musical Cyrano and the one-man show Barrymore. In addition to his Broadway credits, the acting legend was a leading member of Canada's Stratford Festival in its formative years and received an Oscar in 2012 for his work in Beginners. His screen career also includes The Man Who Would Be King, Battle of Britain, Waterloo, A Beautiful Mind, and, perhaps his best known film, The Sound of Music.