TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Cherry Jones, Ellen Burstyn, Cameron Mackintosh, and More Inducted Into Broadway's Theater Hall of Fame

The induction took place during a ceremony on January 27.

The Glass Menagerie star Cherry Jones was among the 2014 inductees into Broadway's Theater Hall of Fame, housed within the Gershwin Theatre.
(© David Gordon)

Tony Award-winning actors Cherry Jones (The Glass Menagerie) and Ellen Burstyn (Flowers in the Attic), directors Jerry Zaks (Guys and Dolls) and George C. Wolfe (Lucky Guy), and producer Cameron Mackintosh (Les Misérables), along with Manhattan Theatre Club Artistic Director Lynne Meadow, noted costume designer David Hayes, and late Raisin in the Sun playwright Lorraine Hansberry, have been inducted into Broadway's Theater Hall of Fame at the Gershwin Theatre. The ceremony was held on January 27.

Joel Grey hosted the ceremony, which featured presentations by Betty Buckley, Zachary Quinto, Sarah Jessica Parker, Phylicia Rashad, John Guare, Jack Viertel, and Robert Wankel.

Founded in 1971 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, Gerard Oestreicher, and L. Arnold Weisberger, the Theatre Hall of Fame honors those who have at least five major production credits and have spent at least 25 years on Broadway.

Click here for more information on the Theater Hall of Fame.