TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Chenoweth, Esparza, Gallagher, Monk, et al. Set for Dramatists Guild Gala logo
Raul Esparza
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Broadway stars Matt Cavenaugh, Kristin Chenoweth, Erin Davie, Raúl Esparza, John Gallagher, Jr., Debra Monk, and Lauren Pritchard will be among the guest performers at the Dramatists Guild of America's Annual Gala, to be held on Monday, April 23 at the Hudson Theater (145 West 44th Street). Playwright John Guare will serve as master of ceremonies for the evening, and the program will be directed by Michael Greif.

At the gala, playwright Horton Foote will receive the Guild's Award for Lifetime Achievement; playwright Ed Bullins will receive the Flora Roberts Award; and Grey Gardens composer Scott Frankel will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition. The winner of the first annual Wendy Wasserstein Prize, presented in association with the Educational Association of America, will also be announced.

In addition, the winner of the 2006 Hull-Warner Award for dramatic work will be announced that evening. This year's finalists are Tanya Barfield for Blue Door; Sarah Ruhl for The Clean House; Scott Frankel, Michael Korie, and Doug Wright for Grey Gardens; David Lindsay-Abaire for Rabbit Hole; Adam Rapp for Red Light Winter; and Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater for Spring Awakening.

Tickets for the gala, including the dinner and awards presentations, begin at $500. Show-only tickets are available for $35. For more information, email [email protected]

Tagged in this Story