TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Broadway's Bye Bye Birdie Announces New Block of Tickets On Sale logo
Nolan Gerard Funk and company in Bye Bye Birdie
(© Joan Marcus)
The Roundabout Theatre Company has announced that a new block of tickets has been released for its revival of Bye Bye Birdie, which opened last night (to largely negative reviews) at the Henry Miller's Theatre. The show is now selling through April 25, 2010.

The Tony Award-winning musical -- which features a book by Michael Stewart, music by Charles Strouse and lyrics by Lee Adams -- is set in 1960, as hip-swingin' teen idol superstar Conrad Birdie has been drafted into the army. Birdie's manager Albert and his secretary Rosie have cooked up a plan to send him off with a swell new song and one last kiss from a lucky teenage fan on The Ed Sullivan Show.

The principal cast includes John Stamos (Albert Peterson), Gina Gershon (Rose Alvarez), Bill Irwin (Mr. Harry MacAfee), Jayne Houdyshell (Mrs. Mae Peterson), Dee Hoty (Mrs. MacAfee), Matt Doyle (Hugo Peabody), Brynn Williams (Ursula Merkle), Jake Evan Schwencke (Randolph MacAfee), Allie Trimm (Kim MacAfee), and Nolan Gerard Funk (Conrad Birdie).

The cast also includes Catherine Blades, Deanna Cipolla, Paula Leggett Chase, Riley Costello, John Treacy Egan, Colleen Fitzpatrick, Todd Gearhart, Patty Goble, Suzanne Grodner, Robert Hager, Nina Hennessey, Natalie Hill, Julia Knitel, Jess Le Protto, David McDonald, JC Montgomery, Jillian Mueller, Paul Pilcz, Daniel Quadrino, Emma Rowley, Tim Shew, Kevin Shotwell, Allison Strong, Jim Walton, and Branch Woodman.

The creative team includes Andrew Jackness (sets), Gregg Barnes (costumes), Ken Billington (lights), Tom Clark/Acme Sound (sound), Howard Werner (projections), David Holcenberg (musical director), Howard Joines (musical coordinator), David Brian Brown (hair & wigs), Jonathan Tunick (orchestrations), and David Chase (music supervisor).

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story