TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

The Detour's Laura Benanti and Jason Jones to Host 2018 Lortel Awards

The Lortels honor the best off-Broadway theater of the season.

Laura Benanti will cohost the 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The Detour costars Laura Benanti and Jason Jones will host the 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards, set to take place Sunday, May 6, at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

The Lucille Lortel Awards recognize outstanding achievement off-Broadway. Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation serve on the voting committee, as do other off-Broadway professionals, theater journalists, and academics.

This year, the Lortels will honor In the Body of the World writer-performer Eve Ensler with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson composer Michael Friedman, who will have his name added posthumously to the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre; and WP Theater, which will receive the Outstanding Body of Work award.

Nominees will be announced April 3.


Tagged in this Story